Kendal and District Engineering Society
To inform, educate and entertain

For information contact the Secretary - David Stocks

tel. 01524 298313

       Twitter KDES1234

2017 - 2018 Programme



Wednesday 20 Sept. 2017

Driverless Vehicles/Trucks

Ian Pengelly

Thursday 5 October

Large Scale Fire, Explosion and Blast Research and Testing

Gary Tomlin

(DNV GL Spadedam)

Wednesday 18 October

Undersea optical cables - The technology that powers the Internet

Nigel Linge

(University of Salford)

Thursday 2 November

(Joint with IET)

Very Light Rail: reducing the cost and weight of a railcar

Nick Mallinson

(Warwick University)

Wednesday 15 November

Approaching Absolute Zero: The What, The How and The Why

Ian Bradley

(Lancaster University)

Thursday 30 November

3D Printing

Jonathon Howard

(University of Cumbria)

Wednesday 13 December

(Visitors’ Evening).

Kendal Castle: An Engineering View

Tom Clare

(Kendal Civic Society)

Wednesday 10th January

Kendal and Kent Catchment Flood Relief

Craig Cowperthwaite

(Environmental Agency)

Thursday 25th January

(Joint with IMechE)

William Fairburn - The experimental 19th century engineer.

Richard Byrom

Thursday  8th February

Small nuclear power reactors

Andrew Mayall

Environment Agency

Wednesday 21st February

Maxillofacial prosthetics and Technology

Paul Mallett

(Lancaster Hospital)

Thursday  1st March

(Joint with IET)

Backup Battery storage facility

Chris Read


Thursday  15th March

(Joint with ICE)

Cleaning up the Thames - The Thames Tideway Tunnel

Ian Aikman


Wednesday 28th March

History of Mining in West Cumbria

Bill Myers

Wednesday 11th April

Yarns from the Ropeworks in Kendal

David Ellwood


Thursday  26th April

 (Joint with IET)

Britain's Most Powerful Steam Locomotive ‘The Prince of Wales’

David Elliott

Director of Engineering

(P2 Steam Locomotive  Co)

Wednesday 9th May



Cyber Security: Keeping safe on the Internet 

(Preceded by AGM at 6.30pm)


Richard Wood

(Barclays Digital Eagles)


Wednesday 19 September

(joint with ICE)

Sainsbury and Rugby Club site development

Alex Brodie (Morbaine)

Thursday 4th October

Building the Gordon Dam, Tasmania

Robert Courtier

Wednesday 17th October

(Joint with IET)

Network Rail Signalling Upgrade

Claire Beranek

(Network Rail)

Thursday 1st November

Automation of Weaving Machinery from the Industrial Revolution onwards

Alan Schofield

Wednesday 14th November (Joint with ICE)                  

Kendal Waste Water Treatment Works upgrade

Andrew Kendall  (United Utilities)

Wednesday 28th November (Joint with IET)

2G to 5G Mobile Networks

Andy Sutton

Thursday 13th December

(Joint with IMechE)

Restoring Historic Public and Church Clocks

Keith Scobie-Youngs (Cumbria Clock Company)

Thursday 10th January

To be confirmed


Wednesday 23rd January

Smart Meters

John Cowburn

Thursday 7th February

To be confirmed


Wednesday 20th February

(Joint with ICE)

Holding Back the Tide

Chris Hudson

Thursday 7th March

To be confirmed


Wednesday 20th March

To be confirmed


Thursday 4th April

To be confirmed


Wednesday 17th April

To be confirmed


Thursday 2nd  May

To be confirmed


Wednesday 15th May

To be confirmed



2018 - 2019 Programme