Kendal and District Engineering Society
To inform, educate and entertain
mars_rover.pngcuadrilla_shale_gas_exploration.pngThames_Tideway.pngArnside_Viaduct_Renovation_6806.pngOrmonde_windfarm.pngSellafield_2.jpg

For information contact the Secretary - David Stocks

david.stocks6@mypostoffice.co.uk

tel. 01524 298313


       Twitter KDES1234


2018 - 2019 Programme (Issue 1.5)

Wednesday 19 September

(Joint with ICE)

Kendal Waste Water Treatment Works upgrade

Andrew Kendall

 (United Utilities)

Thursday 4th October

Cyber Security – Keeping safe on the Internet

Craig Hine/Richard Wood

Barclays Digital Eagles

Wednesday 17th October

(Joint with IET)

Network Rail Signalling Upgrade

Claire Beranek

(Network Rail)

Thursday 1st November

Automation of Weaving Machinery from the Industrial Revolution onwards

Alan Schofield

Wednesday 14th November

 (Joint with ICE)                  

Kendal Sainsbury and Rugby Club site development

Alex Brodie

(Morbaine)

Wednesday 28th November (Joint with IET)

2G to 5G Mobile Networks

Andy Sutton

(BT EE)

Thursday 13th December

(Joint with IMechE)

Restoring Historic Public and Church Clocks

Keith Scobie-Youngs (Cumbria Clock Company)

Thursday 10th January


Williams Formula 1 Engineering

James Colgate (Williams F1)


Wednesday 23rd January

(Joint with IET)


Smart Meters

John Cowburn

(Smart Energy Networks)

Thursday 7th February

Building the Gordon Hydro-Electric Dam in Tasmania

Robert Courtier

Wednesday 20th February

(Joint with ICE)

Holding Back the Tide - The Hodbarrow Mines Sea Defences

Chris Hudson

Thursday 7th March

The refurbishment of the New York City Aqueducts

 John Butcher

Wednesday 20th March

(Joint with IMech)

Biomaterials for hips and knees

Kuntal Patel

(Royal Lancaster Infirmary)

Thursday 4th April

(Joint with IET)

Applications of Graphene

Billy Beggs

(UCLan)

Wednesday 17th April

(Joint with ICE)                  

Maintaining Cumbria’s Old Bridges

David Wiggins

(Curtins)

Thursday 2nd  May

(Joint with IET)

Renewable Energy Solutions

Brendan Uys

(Heacol Ltd Ulverston)

Wednesday 15th May (AGM)

(Joint with ICE?)

Glasgow City Chambers

Dr Nina Baker

(Women in Engineering)

2019 - 2020 Programme (Issue 1.2)

Wednesday 18 September

(Joint ith ICE)

Reopening the Woodhouse Colliery in West Cumbria

 Mark Kirkbride

(West Cumbria Mining)

Thursday 3th October

(Joint with IET)

Climate Change – the evidence and its impact

Giles Archibald

(SDLC)

Wednesday 16th October

(Joint with ICE)

Birkland Culvert and the A591 upgrades

Antony Mulligan

(Eric Wright Civil Eng)

Thursday 31st October

(Joint with IET)

DNA and Forensics

Prof. Sibte Hadi

(UCLan)

Wednesday 13th November

To be Confirmed

 

Thursday 28th November

(Joint with ICE)

The history & impact of the LKAB iron mines near Kiruna in Sweden

Lee & Bernadette Kitchingman

Wednesday 11th December

(Visitors Evening)

Life as an Auctioneer

Bill Nelson

(1818 Auctions)

Thursday 9th January

(Joint with ICE?)

The HS1 Channel Tunnel Railway link

Brian Campbell

(ex London & Continental)

Wednesday 22nd January

All the 2020  dates are provisional

 

Thursday 6th February

 

 

Wednesday 19th February

 

 

Thursday 5th March

 

 

Wednesday 18th March

 

 

Thursday 2th April

 

 

Wednesday 15th April

 

 

Thursday 30th Aprl

 

 

Wednesday 13th May (AGM)